Classic Tracks 2014 Review

2nd - Owain Evans & Arfon Griffiths
Photo by RW Motorsport Photography,

The Classic Tracks is always a popular event with it’s daytime ‘test’ format run under Road Rally regulations. This year Llandysul MC took on the Targa Rally permit to make things a little clearer and simplify things. This event is simply 20 tests run on private land linked together with road sections.

The start again this year was at Parcau Farm, Penrhiwllan around the Jukes’ farm. This is the perfect place to host an event with 2 tests running through here to give it a real day for everyone. Unfortunately the weather wasn’t the best in the morning, but this still brought plenty of people out to see the cars through the first test.

A couple extra roads, jumps and also a run down the ‘ski slop’ made the test different from last year. The surface around the farm has been greatly improved from last year and some of the sections were very smooth and the cars could get up to some very quick times. Quickest through was Kevin Davies & Dale Bowen (Mk2 Escort) only dropping 1:18, second were both Dyfrig James & Dafydd Evans (106) and Justin Jones & Nia Hughes (Mk2 Escort) dropping 1:30. Quickest in class 2 was Dyfrig Thomas & Iwan Griffiths (323) dropping 2:11 and quickest in class 3 were Dion Bee & Robi Wood (Nova) with 2:33.

All the tests were very well arrowed and clear where to go. If there was any rough sections these were clearly cautioned so it was obvious where to slow down. The effort that the club had put into the event was clear throughout the event!

6th - Richard Rees  & Reian Jones
Photo by Phil Griffiths,

MC2 was at Parcau Farm again with a short break or a chance to make up your OTL time before another run around the famous test. At MC2 the quickest crews were as follows; Top 5; 1st – Davies/Bowen 8:06, 2nd – Owain Evans & Arfon Griffiths (Mk2 Escort) 8:12, 3rd – Ieuan Evans & Lewis Morgan (Puma) 9:20, 4th – Steven Hicks & Graham Hicks (206) 9:52, 5th – Chris Palmer & Carwyn Evans (Impreza) 10:05. Class 2 Top 3; 1st – Jason Thomas & Marc Mayes (440) 11:46, 2nd – Gari Evans & Rhodri Evans (Swift) 12:58, 3rd – Gethin Jones & Meredith Roberts (Sierra) 13:12. Class 3 Top 3; 1st – Bee/Wood 12:16, 2nd – Mike Phillips & Gareth Phillips (Astra) 14:19, 3rd – Kevin Davies & Rhodri Jankins (205) 14:26.

The final tests included several that crews doing the event previously would have recognised before the remaining crews arrived back in Llandysul for a well deserved pint while waiting for the results!

It was truly the best Classic Tracks I’ve competed in and listening from several other crews this was the general thought from everyone. Well done to Llandysul MC!

Thanks to @owznt (, A&A Photography (, Llion Rees (, Phil Griffiths (, Rhiannon Bryant ( & RW Motorsport Photography ( for all of the photos! Make sure you head to their websites for more examples and for details on how to purchase yourself a copy!