Classic Tracks 2014 Preview

LlandysulLlandysul MC’s Classic Tracks has always been a popular event with it’s ‘different’ format, this year being no exception with a full entry list as well as it’s usual reserves.

The event starts from Parcau Farm, Penrhiwllan where a natural amphitheatre presents competitors and spectators with 2 large tests with the last car finishing 15 minutes before car 1 (hopefully) returns. With added link roads and jumps this year the venue promises to be great for spectators and competitors alike. With the added bonus of a safe lawned pick nick / play area, bouncy castle and the club lady’s catering it looks to be a great day for all the family.

The event has had a previous reputation for being rough as it uses whites and farms around the Llandysul area, but in previous years the tracks have been getting better and better. This year there has been a huge team from the club making sure this year is as good as ever with a lot of heavy plant machinery being used. Namely thanks to Antony “Stutter man” Reynolds, Chris “Small Willy” Williams, Arwel Tubs, Arwel Buns, John Hands & Family, Arwel F12 and everyone else from Llandysul MC for putting in the hours behind the scenes to provide a great day for us all!

6th - Gavin Rogers & Carrie Rogers - @O
2013 – Photo by @owznt,

This year the switch to a Targa Permit has been made which allow a few differences including some ‘interpretation’ of car restrictions from the Blue Book, so this should be a good step forward for the event and will hopefully increase the popularity of the relatively new Targa events.

Unfortunately the weather isn’t looking the best with rain predicted from 10am to 7pm (Click Here for Weather Report), but we all know how good the Met Office are… fingers crossed and we shall see if it’s another dusty Classic Tracks!

Looking at the entries, last years winners Wyn Owens & Jenny Evans are first away and I’m sure they are the favourites. Hot on their heals are Kevin Davies & Dale Bowen in the Red Mk2 Escort and Daniel Jones & Dilwyn John behind them in the Peugeot 205. Previous multi Welsh Road Rally champion Meirion Evans is in the silly seat sitting in with Steffan “DR” Davies, I’m sure that will be interesting for everyone, especially Meirion! Class 2 is lead away by Dyfrig Thomas & Iwan Griffiths in a Mazda 323, last years 3rd in class winners Mathew Hatch & Angharad Rees are also out again in a BMW as well as last years Novice winners (and 8th overall!) Gethin Jones & Meredith Roberts in their Ford Sierra. Class 3 is lead away by Dion Bee & Robi Wood in the Violet Nova with a fairly newly built 1600 engine, closely followed by last years novice runner up Stuart Roberts, this time being guided by Ben Duke. The full provisional entry list will be up tomorrow evening.

6th - Barry Jones & Rhodri Evans
2012 – Photo by DA Photographic,

One last thing is to thank this years sponsors; Steve Lloyd Timber, H.T Installations, Spencer Environmental Care and Bargain Box for the marshal goody bags!

Its shaping up to be a brilliant day for everyone, I look forward to seeing you all at Parcau Farm on Sunday morning!