Javalin’s Jumbo 2016 Regs

“On Sunday 24th April 2016 Anglia Motor Sport Club, in conjunction with Chelmsford Motor Club, will organise a single-venue Targa Rally at Wethersfield Airfield near Braintree, Essex.

Wethersfield was used for CMC / WECC stage rallies in the late 1990s and is home to the MoD Police.

The Targa Rally has a number of one to two mile driving tests set out in different layouts which will vary during the day.

Javalin Network Services Ltd sponsored the first CMC Gymkhana (a formula that has now evolved into Targa) back in 2002. Javalin is one of the leading Network Infrastructure and Audio Video Solutions installers in the south of England. Working primarily in the education sector, the company has amassed a great deal of experience in installing on time, within budget and with the minimum of fuss.

1st - David Lobb & Adrian White
2015 David Lobb & Adrian White – Photo by M&H Photography,

This event is closed-to-club – which avoids the need for an MSA competition licence, but means all competitors must produce a club card of an Anglia Motor Sport Club member club at signing on.

Anglia Motor Sport Club member clubs are: Cambridge Car Club, Chelmsford Motor Club, Eastern Counties Motor Club, Falcon Motor Club, King’s Lynn and District Motor Club, Sporting Car Club of Norfolk, West Suffolk Motorsport Club and Wickford Auto Club.

eco living and heating is continuing to sponsor the AMSC Targa Challenge in 2016.

Please apply for Chelmsford Motor Club membership via if needed.

The Targa Rally will be open to cars complying with Road Rally or Historic Road Rally rules. See SR 7 for more details. MSA rule R18.2.5 allows forced-induction only for petrol and diesel engines under 1500cc. Rule R18.6.6 for daylight road rallies allows cars to be more than one colour, and to carry up to 1250 sq cm of advertising (the area of 2 sheets of A4 paper) ONLY.

Large logos will need to be removed or completely covered up. Towing eyes must be fitted and ready for use in case you break down.

There is an award for best historic if there are 5 or more entries with pre-1986 cars.”